I’m Dropping Twitter

This is one toxic relationship I can do without

John Bullock
3 min readJul 31, 2021
Photo by Markus Winkler from Pexels

This morning, after a strong coffee and a good ten minutes staring into space, I switched on my phone to check emails and, somewhat unusually for me, I decided to have a look on Twitter.

To my delight, I saw “Terry Pratchett” trending.

This is easily my favourite author, a man I grew up reading, and who has informed much of my worldview. Since Christmas, I have re-read no less than six of his Discworld books with my son. My mind immediately leapt to a new movie adaptation project, or perhaps some event honouring his work.

I was more than a little depressed to find that he was trending because groups of people were bitterly arguing over whether he would have agreed with them.

I’m not going to elaborate on what those views are, I’m not going to share my thoughts on the topic, and I’m certainly not going to weigh in on what I believe Sir Terry Pratchett might have thought had he still been alive. The point is, this is what happens to people on Twitter. Nothing is off-limits.

Some of my Twitter followers may have seen me flapping in disbelief at the sheer vitriol being thrown around during the European Championships, with very little of it to do with any actual football. And what football was discussed was…

--

--

John Bullock

Freelance content writer with an eclectic employment history and an interest in game development. Find links to things at https://linktr.ee/johnbullock